reef-pi :: An opensource reef tank controller based on Raspberry Pi.

ChrisNH

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 21, 2019
Messages
305
Reaction score
254
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I don't think that will work, that'll turn off the ato sensor and disable it. You can do a lot with them, start with simple macros to figure them out and go from there.
So the macro works great. It seems to turn off the sensor and disable the pump as I expected when I run it manually.

However, running it from another ATO sensor kills reef-pi a slow death. The log shows that there is a constant API call. ATO interface becomes unresponsive and I have to stop reef-pi and wipe the DB to recover.

My best guess is that ATO is still not hooked up to Macros despite having the option? Dunno.. its a pity, since if I run the macro it will disable the main ato and shut off the power to the pump. Just what I want in that scenario. I am not sure if I would need to disable the watch dog sensor too just to shut it all down (I did try to no avail) but its moot.

Well, that and an alert. I can't get alerts to work either. Alerts working, thanks.
 
Last edited:

stefanm

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Messages
360
Reaction score
397
Location
Sweden
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I need a little advice here.

Firstly my reef pi hardware is a total mess! I've used jumper wires which are proving highly unreliable, the sparkfun one are probably much better but very expensive, ultimately I would like to switch over to Michael Lane's boards, I've seen the V3 boards have the gerbers available but very much doubt I can solder the PCA 9685.

So I found this expansion shield which costs as much as 10 sparkfun jumpers...
raspberry-pi-gpio-expansion-shield-module-for-raspberry-pi-2-and3-andb-andb-plus-model-4-1100x...jpg


What do you guys reckon?

My chow mein..
IMG_20200710_205257.jpg
 

stefanm

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 11, 2017
Messages
360
Reaction score
397
Location
Sweden
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
This one l
Hi, I need a little advice here.

Firstly my reef pi hardware is a total mess! I've used jumper wires which are proving highly unreliable, the sparkfun one are probably much better but very expensive, ultimately I would like to switch over to Michael Lane's boards, I've seen the V3 boards have the gerbers available but very much doubt I can solder the PCA 9685.

So I found this expansion shield which costs as much as 10 sparkfun jumpers...
raspberry-pi-gpio-expansion-shield-module-for-raspberry-pi-2-and3-andb-andb-plus-model-4-1100x...jpg


What do you guys reckon?

My chow mein..
IMG_20200710_205257.jpg

That board doesn't seem suitable, this one seems much better.

prototyping-expansion-shield-for-raspberry-pi-sunrobotics-original-imafgzkjhxgkvqak.jpeg
 

GaryE

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Mar 12, 2020
Messages
992
Reaction score
1,385
Location
Coatesville, Indiana
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi, I need a little advice here.

Firstly my reef pi hardware is a total mess! I've used jumper wires which are proving highly unreliable, the sparkfun one are probably much better but very expensive, ultimately I would like to switch over to Michael Lane's boards, I've seen the V3 boards have the gerbers available but very much doubt I can solder the PCA 9685.

So I found this expansion shield which costs as much as 10 sparkfun jumpers...
raspberry-pi-gpio-expansion-shield-module-for-raspberry-pi-2-and3-andb-andb-plus-model-4-1100x...jpg


What do you guys reckon?

My chow mein..
IMG_20200710_205257.jpg

Pffft..


1595496790913.png
 

Yov

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
May 24, 2020
Messages
51
Reaction score
44
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
1595592883432.png

Soo... anybody got an idea why 14:07 is in between 11:46 and 12:28? Got this on al the graphs... have been playing with the names (remov spaces) and deleting ADAfruit feeds ... (got to much error's from this...)

Edit: Stil got the Adafruit error's (and lose temp sensor error)
1595593164966.png
 

Michael Lane

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
Aug 11, 2018
Messages
677
Reaction score
1,123
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@Ranjib can you help me with this?
@MikeSpike I think the easiest way to upgrade reef-pi without rebuilding the entire rpi image would be to install reef-pi and then reset the database. This would not reset the logs, but all configuration would wiped and it would basically be a new reef-pi install.

I'd also recommend creating a back up of the SD card prior to taking these steps in case you need to quickly revert to the existing image.

Assuming you are using a pi 3, you can upgrade reef-pi with the following (based on release 3.4)

Code:
wget -c https://github.com/reef-pi/reef-pi/releases/download/3.4/reef-pi-3.4-pi3.deb
sudo dpkg -i reef-pi-3.4-pi3.deb

wget will download the new release, and dpkg will install the new release over your existing installation.

You can reset the database after those steps are completed. This is done by stopping reef-pi, deleting the database, and finally restarting reef-pi. I refer to the troubleshooting page when I need to remember where the db is located.

Code:
sudo systemctl stop reef-pi.service 
sudo rm -rf /var/lib/reef-pi/reef-pi.db 
sudo systemctl start reef-pi.service
 

buddy.

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
May 16, 2018
Messages
291
Reaction score
617
Location
Australia
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Has anyone automated their RODI storage with reef-pi?
I see there are products that will auto flush your filter that might be able to be plugged in to a reef-pi outlet and be controlled by a couple of float switches? My storage takes about a week to empty so the filter will still only be used once per week.
 

Yov

Community Member
View Badges
Joined
May 24, 2020
Messages
51
Reaction score
44
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@Ranjib is there a way to exclude something from the adafruit feed? for example, my lights get graphed on adafruid but i would prefere this not to happen. I got 6 differend light outputs and 4 temp readings... i get constant errors becous wel adafruit is only letting me save 10 feeds
 

Des Westcott

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
646
Reaction score
1,035
Location
Durban - South Africa
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So the macro works great. It seems to turn off the sensor and disable the pump as I expected when I run it manually.

However, running it from another ATO sensor kills reef-pi a slow death. The log shows that there is a constant API call. ATO interface becomes unresponsive and I have to stop reef-pi and wipe the DB to recover.

My best guess is that ATO is still not hooked up to Macros despite having the option? Dunno.. its a pity, since if I run the macro it will disable the main ato and shut off the power to the pump. Just what I want in that scenario. I am not sure if I would need to disable the watch dog sensor too just to shut it all down (I did try to no avail) but its moot.

Well, that and an alert. I can't get alerts to work either. Alerts working, thanks.

Yes. I documented thins in one of my posts a little while ago. An ATO can only seem to work on Equipment. Even though you can choose a Macro, it doesn't work.
 

Des Westcott

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
646
Reaction score
1,035
Location
Durban - South Africa
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
1595592883432.png

Soo... anybody got an idea why 14:07 is in between 11:46 and 12:28? Got this on al the graphs... have been playing with the names (remov spaces) and deleting ADAfruit feeds ... (got to much error's from this...)

Edit: Stil got the Adafruit error's (and lose temp sensor error)
1595593164966.png

I had this happen to me and could not fix it. I eventually deleted the temp sensor and re-installed it from scratch.
 
OP
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,848
Reaction score
17,081
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yes. I documented thins in one of my posts a little while ago. An ATO can only seem to work on Equipment. Even though you can choose a Macro, it doesn't work.
:-/ . This is a bug then . Let me try to verify and report back. If it’s a bug we’ll get it fixed
 
OP
OP
Ranjib

Ranjib

7500 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Apr 16, 2016
Messages
9,848
Reaction score
17,081
Location
Pleasant Hill, Concord
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@Ranjib is there a way to exclude something from the adafruit feed? for example, my lights get graphed on adafruid but i would prefere this not to happen. I got 6 differend light outputs and 4 temp readings... i get constant errors becous wel adafruit is only letting me save 10 feeds
Not yet :-/
 

Des Westcott

Well-Known Member
View Badges
Joined
May 29, 2018
Messages
646
Reaction score
1,035
Location
Durban - South Africa
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just run a cron job that scp my reef-pi.db to another place. I had also used google drive in past.

I have at times wished there was an option to back up the database to an email address manually . Like somewhere under telemetry or Admin tabs Almost like sending a test alert email.
 
Back
Top