Storm Clown In Distress

John-

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am only 6 months into the hobby, so not much experience. I have a Storm Mocha clown having been quarantined for 30 days. Never signs of disease so I did not medicate. Transferred a yellow watchman goby a few days ago from same QT, and doing great. Today, a fire fish in same QT was dead and Clown under severe stress. Breathing heavy at bottom of tank. QT was cloudy, so I moved him to display tank to see if cleaner water would help, but still stressed, so moved him back to QT. Began treating with General Cure and introduced 2ml to 20 gallons to start getting copper level up. Any guidance, thoughts or comments? I am very new at this. The only thing I added to fish QT (after the goby left) was some snails from a coral QT that has been running for 40 days. That coral QT did have what I believed were pods on the glass. Now I am concerned maybe they are flukes.

Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
A bit confused on your type up. So apologies if I didn't get this right.

Okay just to be clear. The only two fish in the QT tank at the time of death was the firefish and the clown? watchmen was already out of the picture?

1. The firefish could have been bullied by the clown or killed it. (clowns are aggressive to new tank mates). I tend to do lights out while adding new members.
2. firefish death could have spiked ammonia. Cloudy water is clear indicator that bacteria is in overdrive. The heavy breathing is caused by lack of oxygen.
3. Moving the clownfish into another tank is also going to cause it to stress. How long did you wait after moving it to display tank to see any changes to health?

In the future just stay calm. Don't make drastic changes until you assess the situation. I would have pulled what was left of the fish out of the QT. Check ammonia/nitrates. And based off that data do a water change.