+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello fellow reefers!

I am rebooting my 18g for the third time and am pretty confident/happy so far, so figured a build thread was in order.

Background
I've had this tank for about 7 years now and it has made some major moves with me, including cross country, hence the multiple reboots. It's housed a variety of fishes and corals, and a lot of algae. It's gone from being a cheap setup to an expensive setup to a stable setup.

As for me, I've been in the hobby or 17 years now and kept freshwater tanks for many years before that. I started with a 20g tank, got up to a 125g, and had a a few inbetween. I currently have a 180g sitting in storage while I house hunt. The current 18g is kind of my testing ground for when I finally setup the 180g.

This is my first time posting on R2R. My previous threads have been on RC, but I needed a change from that culture. Onto the tank/build. My apologies, this thread is long and detailed. I tried to cover every aspect of the tank. If I missed anything, please feel free to ask! Comments/suggestions are very welcome as I'm always looking to improve and learn.

Tank, sump, and stand
The tank and sump were custom built by Advanced Acrylics. I had a couple minor issues, but overall the price was good and the tanks have worked out nicely. The stand I built myself, which is apparent in person as I am not a master carpenter. Still trying to figure out how I'm going to build the 180g stand cleanly, but I think the biggest help will be using a sliding circular saw to help keep the legs the same length and square. This stand is a 2x4 frame based on RocketEngineer's design and covered in half inch plywood that I stained.

Equipment
  • Apex
    • COR-15 return pump
    • Auto top off kit
    • Fluid monitoring kit
    • Par monitoring kit
    • Doser for calcium and alkalinity
    • Temp and salinity probes