What is up with my torch head ?!

Schulks

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

I have an IM 50 EXT with trigger 20 cube sump.

Filtration:

Reefmat
carbon reactor
bubble king 160 skimmer
Pentair 40w UV

Paramets:

NO3: 28.3
PO4: 0.156
pH: 8.1
dKh: 9.1
Ca: 465
Sg: 33 ppt

The fish I have used to live at 33 but I have been meaning to raise salinity. I just have been afraid to because I have been adjusting doses and trying to stabilize everything else..

Right now one of my torch heads is all shriveled up and the others look ok. It looks really bad to me but
I am a super beginner. I have had this torch about 2 months and It looked great when it arrived. About a month ago I moved it and beat it up with flow for a couple days and it hasn't recovered to its former glory. I did have high nitrates ~40 for awhile and still pretty high (28.3) but going down. My akalinity is normally at 8.8 or just under. This is the highest is has gotten. I added an AWC about 3 weeks ago to combat the nitrates and was running about 2 gallons a day for a couple weeks.

I saw one of the other heads expel zooxanthella the other day.

20240928_190849[1].jpg 20240928_190846[1].jpg

Last edited:
OP
OP
Schulks

Schulks

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Yesterday it looked a little better but today it looks a good bit worse. It might be because my ATO did not turn on all day for some reason. salinity has moved from 33 to maybe 33.3ish. I don't know if that is enough to effect it this way. I might be doing something very basic wrong for this torch. Thanks guys.

Yesterday
20240929_210233[1].jpg

Today
20240930_212420.jpg

About the ato failure...