Trident w/ Jaebo dosing pumps

Rollman

Active Member
View Badges
Joined
Jan 20, 2018
Messages
372
Reaction score
721
Location
Annapolis MD
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey All-
Hope you are safe and doing well. Was finally able to acquire a Trident on BRS. Does anyone know if you can use Jaebo dosing pumps through Apex to work with Trident?

Thanks
 

TheHarold

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Joined
Oct 3, 2015
Messages
5,163
Reaction score
8,785
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey All-
Hope you are safe and doing well. Was finally able to acquire a Trident on BRS. Does anyone know if you can use Jaebo dosing pumps through Apex to work with Trident?

Thanks

No, the Apex cannot communicate with the jebao dosing pump.
 

SuncrestReef

That Apex guy
View Badges
Joined
Jan 18, 2018
Messages
4,214
Reaction score
9,251
Location
Oregon
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You can create some rudimentary programming to control a non-DOS pump based on Trident readings, but it won't be as elegant or precise as Trident Controlled Dosing with the DOS. The Trident test results are available in programming through three inputs:

Alkx##
Calx##
Magx##
(where ## is the AquaBus address of your Trident)

It can be as simple as just turning off the dosing pump if a parameter is above a set threshhold:

If Alkx## > 9.0 Then OFF

Or you could make it more complex by using a series of virtual outputs to control different rates of dosing using OSC commands:

[Alk_Low]
OSC 000:00/000:10/009:50 Then ON
If Alkx## > 8.5 Then OFF

[Alk_Normal]
OSC 000:00/000:05/014:55 Then ON
If Alkx## < 8.6 Then OFF
If Alkx## > 9.0 Then OFF

[Dosing_Pump]
Set OFF
If Output Alk_Low = ON Then ON
If Output Alk_Normal = ON Then ON

The other thing to remember is that the Trident inputs will remain at the same value until the next scheduled test, and you will also need to account for times when the Trident is out of reagents or in some other error state.
 
Back
Top