Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Im just getting into this hobby, and i want to know whats the best way to start off caribsea dry. Or live rock? My friend scaped his whole tank with live rock. My old saltwater tank crashed, and i dont want to repeat any mistaked. I had nutrients issues both 0 N+P so i started dosing them and algae took over all kinds. And lost control. I had 1 piece of live rock added in my scape from my lfs, but i forgot my lfs couldve been using chemicals in his systems. So lesson learned. But in general if i order from a reptubale website is it a good way to start?

Top Shelf Aquatics

Spare time

10K Club member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

bradreef

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Ptos and cons,

Dry rock- no unwanted pest, takes a while for it to not be ugly

Live rock- brings in diverse bio life and filtration. Also some unwanted stuff.

Personally my preference is to build structures with broken up dry and seed with a little live rock

Nutramar Foods

bushdoc

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Go with dry rock, it will be cheaper ( at least initially), you will avoid unwanted hitchhiker pests, like Aiptasia, Majano, mantis shrimp, gorilla crab and many others. You may get some of them when you buy corals though.
Surely, you will most probably have prolonged “Ugly faze”, and so to speak “ algae will eat you alive”, but that’s how it usually goes with dry rock. Basically your tank will be ready for real coral in about 6 months and SPS about 10-10months.
Pick your poison.

legionofdoon

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0