+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,
My 250+ gallon mixed reef got neglected this year due to looking after my sick mother & her eventual passing away, 3 pumps failing, pipe leaks, metal corrosion in DT, you name it.
Anything that could go wrong did in 2021.

Just a horrible year.

I have been reefing for over 15 years, never had such a horrible year.

My p04 is reading is 0.017ppb Hanna ULR, which I calculate as 0.52ppm. ;Shamefullyembarrased I am currently running Seachem Phosguard and Rowaphos. p04 has gone down from being much higher a few weeks ago.

I have also gotten my two ATS running again after the S1 pump failed. It was off for 2-3 months or so.

I am currently running Seachem CupriSorb Filter Media to deal with any metal contaminates.

I have also implemented a skimmer to help.

My question is:
Q1 - Is it safe to get some CUC to help with the Algae growth in the DT?
Q2 - If it's a yes for Q1, which one(s) can I get that can tolerate the high p04.

My Nitrates are currently 10, down from over 70 a few weeks ago, but with the 2x ATS running now, they have dived down. I used to nitrates at about 8-10 which the tank liked. But I know the low Nitrates is also because my DT has enough Algae to store them and also hold some p04.

At the moment I have only 2 surviving CUC - 1x Strawberry conch, and 1x cleaner shrimp.

I have GHA, red slime, some brownish hairy algae all over the tank. I know not much will eat the red slime stuff.

Fish that have survived :
1xOrange shoulder tang;
1xSailfin Desjardini tang;
1xLamarck's Angelfish;
1xCleaner Wrasse;
1xRed Head Solon Fairy Wrasse;
2xCommon clowns;
1xRoyal Gramma;
1xAnthias;
1xStarry Blenny;

I have lost too many corals to list.

I have lost over 10 fish, plus a Sea Cucumber Tiger Tail, and only caught and took one fish out, so all the others just returned the nutrient back into the tank.