Help cycling

taylorb04

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I’m New to the salt water tanks and im having a hard time cycling my tank, i decided to go the hard route and do a 5 gallon goby and shrimp tank. I’m about a week into the cycle in believe. I used live sand, 3 pounds of live rock, prime water conditioner and fluval cycle for the bacteria and boost to help the cycle. I’ve tested me ammonia a few times and its come back as zero, but my nitrates and nitrites are sitting at 10mg/L (nitrates) and 1mg/L(nitrites). I can’t seem to get either of those any lower however im using test strips from imagatiarium and i know they aren’t the best. So im looking for advice to lower oth the no2 and n03. Take it easy on me im new and some of y’all are hard on us new people lol

Gumbies R Us

Certified Noob
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would grab you a nitrate or nitrite test kit and ditch the test strips. Do a test with those and see what your numbers are. If you started with live rock and live sand you should be cycled by now.

Bosreef

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Used live rock ? Like rock that has always been wet? And in an established aquarium and or the ocean. YOU ARE CYCLED

OP
OP
T

taylorb04

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would grab you a nitrate or nitrite test kit and ditch the test strips. Do a test with those and see what your numbers are. If you started with live rock and live sand you should be cycled by now.
and for that size of tank how often would you recommend small water changes

zerozero

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
From what I've read here Prime Tap water conditioner does nothing useful for salt water tanks. It's great for making tap water safe for fresh waters tanks, but no good for us.

You really don't have to worry about nitrite. So, the best way to reduce nitrate is to do a water change, so long as you are using properly mixed salt water.