What's the ONE thing you wish you knew when you started culturing copepods?

AlgaeBarn

beesnreefs

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm about to start a tigriopus copepod culture. After reading up and watching videos it seems fairly straightforward with this hardy species.

That said, it's my first time! So, those of you who have culture copepods, what's the ONE piece of advice you wish someone had given you when you started?

www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com

JGT

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They are incredibly hardy. I grow mine in an unheated beverage dispenser. No filter or heater and just air pump to gently create some movement and a desk lamp that turns on/off every 10 hours. Dump some phyto in once a week and you’re set.

PotatoPig

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
1. You can’t underfeed them, only over feed and cause ammonia issues.
2. You can keep a “backup” container you rarely feed (maybe once a month) and won’t need airlines. Good for restarting.
3. They eat spirulina, which is much easier to procure and store than phyto.
4. They won’t colonize your tank no matter how many you add. These are direct feed only.
/yeah, that’s four pieces of info, but concise.

www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com
OP
OP
beesnreefs

beesnreefs

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
1. You can’t underfeed them, only over feed and cause ammonia issues.
2. You can keep a “backup” container you rarely feed (maybe once a month) and won’t need airlines. Good for restarting.
3. They eat spirulina, which is much easier to procure and store than phyto.
4. They won’t colonize your tank no matter how many you add. These are direct feed only.
/yeah, that’s four pieces of info, but concise.
Haha - thanks for the 3 bonus tips!