What Are Steps To Begin The Nitrogen Cycle?

AverageSnowPair10

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone,

Starter question that I have never done before and will also help beginners understand the nitrogen cycle.

I find it very confusing because there are many different steps about the Nitrogen Cycle in many people's reef tanks.

Such as dosing Dr.tims beneficial bacteria, or adding a piece of shrimp to decompose in the fish tank so you can begin the nitrogen cycle.

However, the steps get confusing afterwards.
For Instance, In some videos, there was no info about removing the piece of shrimp or the next step to Dr Tim's beneficial bacteria that has been poured into the new cycling tank.
Although, I do know that we have to test ammonia and nitrites. Afterwards, you do 10% water changes after you get a sign of nitrites and ammonia.

I have had experience with reef tanks for about 2 years now however, I have never done the nitrogen cycle in my reef tanks. I had many problems with disturbing bacteria in my sand which caused bacteria blooms and algae outbreaks that caused my water quality to become foggy and brownish.

That's why I am here to ask for every specific steps to successfully finish the nitrogen cycle for my new upcoming Innovative Marine 25 gallon lagoon.

My new goal for this year is getting past the 5 month mark with a stable reef tank.
Every advice/help anyone else has for me is appreciated, thanks!

GatorGreg

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
New reefers are usually very impatient and because of this tend to WAY overcomplicate it.

For Dr. Tim’s method all you literally have to do is follow the directions. It’s methodically laid out and very easy to comprehend. Also have patience.