Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have no experience with UV sterilizers. I am setting up a new tank and have been researching adding one to the new system for any added benefits. It's confusing stuff to me. For those with the knowledge, is it possible, through oversizing or otherwise, to install one UV sterilizer to effectively control BOTH parasites and help with nuisance algae? Or is that simply impossible?

Nutramar Foods

LAReefer4Life

Lover of Angelfish
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
They need to difference flow rates. Parasite control is 1.5 - 2 time turn over per hour as where algae and bacteria control is 4-6 x turn over per hour. The only way to achieve this is by installing two UV's with different flow rates to attack both issues.

BZOFIQ

2500 Club Member
Review score
+5 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+5 /0 /-0
Rating - 100%
8   0   0
They need to difference flow rates. Parasite control is 1.5 - 2 time turn over per hour as where algae and bacteria control is 4-6 x turn over per hour. The only way to achieve this is by installing two UV's with different flow rates to attack both issues.

While I agree that the different organism need different flow rates to be eradicated, they should be posted in GPH (and not turnover per hour) and vary from unit to unit.

@XLReefer525 The manufacturer of your UV unit should have these figures posted in their spec sheet/box/manual/website.

jmatt

Just gettin' started. Again.
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0