Trident Regents - Uneven usage?

dwright

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I've been using the trident for around 6 months now and I've enjoyed it mostly albeit some learning curves along the way

Something I've noticed is that the 2 months supply of regent tends to last a less than its supposed to. Mainly because Regent A seems to last longer than regent B and C.

B and C tend to get used mostly evenly but A I always seems to throw away 20-35% of the bottle each time B and C need replacing - is this normal amongst other reefers?

Also on a separate note - I've completely stopped using the calibration fluid supplied... I've found that conducting my own tests with Hanna testers and then calibrating using my own tank water using the Hanna results is better than the calibration fluids.... anyone else prefer that method? I found that calibration fluid changed too drastically between calibrations.

Screenshot 2024-07-12 112953.png

MnFish1

10K Club member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
I'm not sure why the calibration solution would make a difference in the use of bottle A. However see below re: calibration solution. It is my impression that its not 'odd' to have solution left over in bottle A.

From @JimWelsh on another thread - Re home-made calibration solution:

"Having done exactly what you describe for many, many, many combinations of the big three in the course of developing the Trident, let me tell you that's it's really not as easy as you might think at first glance.