Tang died quickly today, help with I’d please

TheWB

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
My Tomini Tang, to the best of my knowledge was fine yesterday. It was eating and swimming normally. I was gone for most of the weekend so I may have missed some signs of trouble. This morning the Tang looked terrible. It would not eat and was gasping for breath and swimming into a wavemaker. Later on in the afternoon today it got a little more active and appeared to be perking up a little but then it quickly died. Here’s a picture I took just after I removed it from the tank.
IMG_4843.jpeg

I’m not very good at disease ID and would appreciate some help identifying what this looks like. I had this guy for 4-5 years with no issues and it’s a little stunning to lose him in half a day.

No other fish in the tank are currently showing any signs of disease. All are breathing normally and eating with no signs of anything on their bodies that might indicate disease. I realize that doesn’t really mean anything and I’m hoping for some help with an ID here so I can decide what treatment may be needed in the tank.

AetherealKnight

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What are your tank parameters? Did you have any new additions? Swimming into the power head and gasping for breath could mean velvet but your tomini doesn’t appear to have any sugary fine spots on it or maybe it does? It’s hard to tell for me..

Last edited:
OP
OP
TheWB

TheWB

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What are your tank parameters? Did you have any new additions? Swimming into the power head and gasping for breath could mean velvet but your tomini doesn’t appear to have any sugary fine spots on it or maybe it does? It’s hard to tell for me..
Thanks for responding.
Salinity is 1.025
Temp is 77 +/-
PH is 8.37
Have not tested anything else recently as no major algae is present and there are no corals in the tank.