Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think somebody finally has a light I'm willing to buy for my SCA150 to replace my cobbled together DIY's on my mixed reef, and I'm very strongly looking at the new AI Blades due to their mounting options.

My biggest question, since I've never used a blade style light before, is what width should I go for on my 60" wide tank? Would the hive mind recommend the 48" wide or 57" wide? I'm looking to really cut down on shadowing as much as possible but at the same time I really don't want to spend a few hundred extra dollars (Assuming 3 blades) providing a high PAR number to my carpet.

BRS

Sean Clark

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would go for 3 of the 57" especially if eliminating shadows is your goal.

I was looking at using a bunch of 21" and running them front to back instead of side to side.

14 foot reef

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I think you could do either, going with the 57" will give you a lot more "Bounce/Reflection" off glass and help a lot with shadowing. I'd invest the few hundred extra and then you'll never have to second guess your decision, plus you'll be able to run them at a lower power which will allow them to last longer.

Nutramar Foods

helmsreef

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I just installed a single 57" on my 72" tank which supplements my 6 kessil a360x's, I will be trying to get par numbers very soon on how well a single one helps. Here is a picture of just the blade on preset 2 of their intensity when I was setting it up.

Attachments

• IMG_0989.jpg
    IMG_0989.jpg
    218.6 KB · Views: 145
OP
OP
hhaase

hhaase

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0