Reverse osmosis: What is the proper waste-water ratio for softened water that is high TDS?

AI Hydra

heybob

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I've seen comments that the brine-to-product-water ratio should be between 3:1 and 4:1 unless the water is softened. I think this is because the waste water flow is needed to flush the membrane and inhibit scale on the membrane.

But what if you run very hard water through a softener so you now have high-TDS soft water? Does this eliminate scale? What is the ideal waste-water ratio in this case where a softener is being used?

In my case, I have 400 TDS and 11 grains/gallon going though a softener, then carbon, then Reverse Osmosis (Filmtec TW30-1812-50HR).

Thanks!

www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com

Shirak

Valuable Member
Review score
+2 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+2 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am by no means a professional in the RO system business. I have used them for many years though and currently have a DIY contraption for my salt water tanks.

You are correct about the scale issue with hard water (Ca). The softener will eliminate that issue.

Generally speaking 3:1 for a single membrane with regular tap water which I will guess 200-300ppm dissolved solids. When you go to a second membrane in water saver mode or have soft water or a low TDS source water (which to me means under 100ppm) I think you can run closer to 2:1. Could you go under 2:1? Maybe.. at some point you will start forcing ions through the membrane though and with 400ppm TDS source water, even though it's softened. That may be an issue. Good way to check is to monitor the output of the RO. If your supposed to be getting 98% rejection and your source is 400 then your output should be no more than 8ppm. If it's going over that after running for a little while then you might need to up your waste water output.