pH rising, I'm a newbie. Am I doing ok? Need some reassurance/guidance.

dnprall

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have a Reefer XL 200 (42 gallon display, 9 gallon sump). This was set up early December 2022 by my LFS. I have a skimmer

I currently have two clown fish, one watchman goby with a tiger pistol shrimp, one scarlet skunk cleaner shrimp, one turbo snail, one tiger conch, bunch of hermit crabs and snails, one torch, one frogspawn, one hammer, bunch of GSP and several zoas (3 peppermint shrimp are coming tomorrow). Currently battling cyanobacteria, little bit of green hair algae, and some aiptasia. Everyone seems happy at this point.

Please see attached file. My pH has been elevated over the last few testing days but I really don't know why. I dose NeoNitro, NeoPhos, and All-for-Reef as you can see.

The corals seem to be ok and they are open unless a hermit crab or the cleaner shrimp is walking on them.

Am I doing the right things? Should I test less often at this point? I know the phos may be a little low but I'm nervous about overshooting. Do I even need to do anything about the pH? (I am going to try to get a different pH kit tomorrow and/or more pH reagent but my nearest LFS is 45 minutes away)

I understand that this is a long term hobby but I don't know at what point do I "relax" a little with the testing, dosing, etc. I am going to start feeding the coral with some Benepets Reef Food.

Do my water parameters seem ok? There is so much information on this website and learning about this stuff seems like drinking from a firehose.

Thanks for any input/constructive criticism, etc.
Screenshot 2023-03-01 at 7.17.14 PM.png

Orphek OR3 reef aquarium LED bar

Dennis Cartier

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0