+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,
This is my first post ever on here as I'm working towards my first reef tank! Since I've got a decent space and some money saved I've been eyeing the waterbox reef 130.4 system since it is absolutely the biggest I can fit in my space. Total volume is 130 gal, but the actual display tank is 96.3 gal, 48x24x22" so I've been hoping to be able to house the following:
- Pair of Ocellaris Clowns
- Firefish
- Neon goby
- Royal Gramma
- Yellow Wrasse
- Melanarus Wrasse
- Red Head Solon Wrasse
- Resplendent Anthias (hopefully a group of 1 male 3 female)
- Flame Angel
- Purple Tang
I've got plenty of experience in freshwater but this will be my first reef. I've been researching for the past few months and am hoping to make these work, my biggest questions would be is the tank simply overstocked, and the biggest question is the purple tang especially considering it is a family favorite. I've been seeing so many different takes on purple tangs that I just wanted to ask for any people with experience with them to lend some advice. It's my family's favorite fish I've shown them, but if necessary I would consider substituting it for a Kole tang or something else similar. Any advice would be appreciated!

Last edited:
Nutramar Foods

Dbichler

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks fine to me the anthias will be hardest. Make sure to add purple tang last and make it a smaller one no bigger than 3 inches. A bigger one would most likely bully all of the fish on that list. Adding it last and small will increase your odds a little.

Biokabe

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So long as you can manage the bioload, I see no major red flags with your list. There are a couple things that I would say about your list, though.