New tank. Forcing ugly stage in the fuge before turning in DT lights?

CON CAC

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
My tank has been running for about a month now.

Ive been dosing phyto and pods daily.

I run a fuge for 12 hours with some macro in it. I already see algae growing on the walls of the fuge.

Should I just force the ugly state to occur in the fuge for a few months before turning on the lights over the DT.

Thanks

Corals.com

collins.jason.k

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I'm not an expert but I would definitely recommend keeping display lights off for awhile especially if you have no photosynthetic organisms that require it. Fish will be fine with ambient light from the room.

Don't know if you can force the uglies to confine themselves only to the refugium but it sounds like that would be where more would occur with the light source helping them along.

OP
OP
CON CAC

CON CAC

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
I don't entirely understand the question. Your tank has cycled, yes?
Hi

yes the tank is cycled. I’m just trying to isolate the ugly stage in my refugium instead of my display.

so I have my fuge light on instead of display lights in order to force all the crap to grow in the fuge for the first few months.

then after most of the uglies grow and die, I’ll turn on my DT lights.

was wondering if it works this way lol.

thanks

OP
OP
CON CAC

CON CAC

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
I'm not an expert but I would definitely recommend keeping display lights off for awhile especially if you have no photosynthetic organisms that require it. Fish will be fine with ambient light from the room.