Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wanted the forums thoughts on placing a Nemo in a Nano 7.5g Reef tank.

Is it too small? Can I get away with having one?

Does keeping then alone make em unhappy? Is there any other tank mates that I can place with them.

I am a newbie and keep getting conflicting information from my LFS, online peeps, but want to know what R2R thinks!

[HASH=34504]#reefhelp[/HASH]

Nutramar Foods
AquaCave Logo Banner
Avast

Anemone_Fanatic

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I would recommend avoiding a clownfish. As @Lavey29 pointed out, rock displacement will make the available space much smaller. This isn't usually an issue in a large tank, but it will add up for nanos. Clowns can also get pretty large as adults when under good conditions, about 3.5" long and 1.5" tall. Instead, I recommend either a small goby or a single Chrysiptera damsel, with no other fish. The goby won't move far from its burrow and will utilize the rockwork in making its home, and the damsel will stay around 2/3rds the size of the clown. Damsels are the bettas of saltwater (readily available, colorful, do well in tanks as small as 5 gallons, and will beat up most other fish), and I highly recommend them when they are the only fish. If you want to add further activity, small shrimp and porcelain crabs will do so without making much of a difference to the bioload. Good luck!

Lavey29

7500 Club Member
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Clowns live in sumps smaller than most nanos. Ask me how i know. :cool:
Not really, average sump is like 15g. Shamu swam in a pool. Are we really doing the best for our animals? Temporary time out, sure sump is fine for temporarily housing problem fish.

Nutramar Foods
OP
OP
enlighten

enlighten

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges