Is it hard to make dry rock a live rock?

Alice81216

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!
I'm a beginner at saltwater I'm trying to get my first tank set up right before I put any fish inside the tank I've got a freshwater tank but I'm trying to do a saltwater tank now
I've got a 10 gallon tank with reef sand, saltwater and a filter at the moment.
I've been thinking of getting dry rocks (not sure yet) so my question is
Is it hard to make a dry rock a live rock and if anyone has got some good tips please tell me
Thank you!

GatorGreg

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
No. Time in salt water is all it takes.

you’ll need to do a fishless cycle. If this is the route you’ve decided to take. It’s cost efficient. But more complicated for a new reefer like yourself.

not impossible though.

check out Dr. Tim’s fishless cycle that’s the kit you’ll need. It comes with starter bacteria and ammonia to dose and most important of all. Step by step instructions.

don’t buy api ammonia kit it’ll confuse you and give you false readings.

Upvote 0

NkSde

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Super easy barely an inconvenience.

if you are unsure look up some of the references here.

newcomers thread

And newcomers forums available for further research.

Welcome to r2r

to answer though it’s very easy w modern techniques to cycle and turn dry rock to live. Plenty of supplements are on the market as well as techniques like frizen shrimp, ghost feeding.

dive in and see what sounds best for you

Upvote 0

Freenow54

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!