Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone, I have a 55 gal tank. Is it worth it to add an ATO to this tank? I do not have a sump for this tank. Just a filter.

In you experience was it worth it to add an ATO to your setup? Why?

AquaCave Logo Banner

T-J

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hands down one of the best inventions for reef tanks. I've been doing this for over 20 years. Before we had to use IV lines and GUESS on how much water was evaporating by dripping it into the tank. ATO's keep the salinity very stable. I wouldn't run a tank without one!

Sshannon

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Unless you have a glass top over your tank to limit evaporation, an ATO; although a luxury item; is so convenient to have. Plus having it top off throughout the day is way more stable than dumping 2 gallons of RO water at the end of each week. That said, you get what you pay for. Make sure you get one with a redundant second sensor to prevent overflows or snails knocking around the first sensor.

Nutramar Foods

MichaelReefer

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello everyone, I have a 55 gal tank. Is it worth it to add an ATO to this tank? I do not have a sump for this tank. Just a filter.

In you experience was it worth it to add an ATO to your setup? Why?

Yes. Less Maintenance. You can also leave a few days and not worry about water level or salinity.

Top Shelf Aquatics

Joe31415

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Another vote for it being worth it. I have a 40 g tank (that I drilled) and a 20g sump. All together, probably about 50g of saltwater. I'd guess that the tank evaporates 2-3 gallons per week.