I think I have disease… are these white spots ich??

BRS

GJMAN

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So I noticed my Tailspot blenny flashing last night after the lights were off and inspected everyone this morning. My clown
3F974FEE-4D13-4623-80AA-6FC774A484C0.jpeg

The only other fish are a shrimp goby, who is showing no symptoms, and the Tailspot blenny, who has no visible white spots but is still periodically flashing. The clown is not flashing at all, and everyone is eating normally.
Can someone please help me identify if this is ich or velvet, and a course of action? This is my first time dealing with any disease in my tank. 5FB5DCB5-8E17-4289-9662-A3BC892A2FF2.jpeg

Nutramar Foods

nereefpat

5000 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Can someone please help me identify if this is ich or velvet, and a course of action?
It's not velvet. It could be ich, but I usually see more spots on the fins first. If you can make note (well, you took pictures already) of where the spots are and compare them to where spots are in a couple days, you could diagnose ich or not. Ich spots will be in a different place. Ich can be treated with either hyposalinity or copper in a tank without inverts in it. Tank Transfer Method works well, but only on ich, and it takes some work.

I wonder about skin flukes too. That would be treated with Prazi, and you can do that in a display.

BRS
OP
OP
G

GJMAN

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If those videos don’t work I’ll post one later from my computer, but the clown’s breathing seems okay to me. If anything the blenny might be breathing a bit fast, but I could also be making that up.

So, would immediate treatment with prazipro make sense in case it is flukes?

Avast
OP
OP
G

GJMAN

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score