+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello Reefers,

I’m sure this is the millionth post asking about possible diatom issues but I’m at my wits end and was hopeful someone can point me in the right direction to help correct the issue.
I’m new to reef tanks and I’m seeking some experienced inputs. Any help would be appreciated.
I’ve listed the information below I thought would be helpful to determine the root cause.
Issues:
  1. What appears as heavy diatoms on sand. Diatoms on sand started around April 2022. (See Attached Photo)
    1. After my typical 15 gallon water change the next day shows signs of brown on sand.
    2. The 2nd day after 15 gallon water change shows is significant brown on the sand. (See Attached Photo)
  2. Some (not all) rocks appear to have brown hair algae on them.
  3. Some (not all) of the snails have brown hair algae on them. (See Attached Photo)
  4. Some frag plugs have brown hair algae on them.
Tank Information:
Tank Cycled: 12/18/21
Tank Size: 75 gallons (4’ long)
Salt: Red Sea Blue bucket.
RODI Water:
TDS = 0
Silicate of RODI water measures 0.
Water Changes:
  • Generally change 15 gallons once every week since diatom outbreak.
  • Prior to outbreak would change 15 gallons every 2 weeks.
Tank Equipment:
  • 20 gallon sump with some bio-balls & heater
  • Bubble Magus NAC6 Skimmer
  • Apex EL base unit, Apex Trident Monitoring Device, Apex DOS dosing pump, & Apex 832 energy bar
Powerheads:
  • 2 Jebao SLW-20 on Else/Random modes.
    • At one point had 2 Jebao SLW-30’s installed but flow seemed too strong as torches didn’t want to fully open.
Lighting:
Lights mounted 12” off the top of the water
:

• 3 - Kessil A360
  • Aquatic Life 48” G3 T5HO Hybrid T5 fixture (added T5’s 11/2022. Diatoms present before adding T5’s):
    • ATI Bulbs: 2: Blue Plus, 1: Coral Plus, 1: True Actinic
  • Average PAR on sand with BOTH T5 & Kessil’s on during 1:00pm-5:00pm light schedule below= PAR 165