Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had heard chromis could sometimes pick each other off thats the only reason I didn't think to research till now. I'm new to chromis and had no idea there was a specific disease that could effect them. I've now lost 3 chromis to what I thought was aggression, they all ended up with this red sore on there sides. every one seemed great and healthy all eating no sign of sickness. Then one fish developed this red sore that looked like another fish had been biting him so I took him out and put him in his own tank, my QT tank. I dosed with stress coat and slowly raised coppersafe to therapeutic level. Within a week he was dead, so I thought the stress of everything and being attacked was just too much for him. I kept an eye out for the school in the tank and everyone seemed perfectly healthy and fine. Within the next week same thing all of a sudden on another chromis, I did the same thing the moment I saw what I thought was an injury including missing a fin. Same thing dead within a week, at that point I started getting worried so I was closely watching trying to see who was being aggressive so I could remove them. And now I've got a third one same thing red sore on his side that looks raw, he's still eating for now but he keeps getting weaker, and im hoping and praying he's still alive when I get home.

Could this be chromis disease and if so what do I do to treat them and is everyone in my tank at risk? They are near impossible to catch in the 75 gallon but I feel I need to remove them, and treat them separately, as well as treat my main tank. Is it too late?

Top Shelf Aquatics

hds4216

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
@Jay Hemdal, your expertise would likely be helpful.