Going away for 2 weeks what do you do when traveling abroad?

BRS

Tim'sReef

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all,

Tomorrow I will be leaving for Spain, 2 weeks of sun and beach. Now, this is my first time leaving for so long while having a reef tank. Tops was 4 days of not seeing it, and while am happy I can travel again, I'm a bit anxious for leaving for so long (started my first reef in the first covid lockdown here in Holland). Any tips or advice are appreciated.

Here is what I have done to set the tank up for leaving.

- The neighbor is feeding the fish. She had previously done my nano on smaller trips.
- I have set up my tunze ato with a backup a gravity ato from my tank originally.
- Have RO water stored. (100+ liters).
- Indications for where the water line is supposed to be and where the temps need to be.
- 2 heaters, both on temp controllers.
- Refuguim for my nutrient export.
- Left the phone number of my LFS and informed them that I would be leaving.
- Dosing pump handles the ALK en Cal.
- Backup return pump on standby.

Like said, any more tips always appreciated. Maybe I'm just stressing too much, I remember Jake saying in one of the reef therapy podcasts that he doesn't worry about his tanks, but he misses them while he was traveling. I'm going to stick with that too.

Top Shelf Aquatics

fish farmer

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Looks like you have things covered. I like to write stuff down and provide a picture of the sump and what all the parts are for your neighbor.

Since you are leaving soon I assume you have done all routine tasks. My experience on one vacation I should have changed my dosing tube. I came back to a low alk due to my kalk doser slowing down.

Avast
OP
OP
Tim'sReef

Tim'sReef

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0