View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
IMG_4100.JPG
IMG_4101.JPG
Hello everyone! I hope everyone had a great holiday and Merry Christmas! I'm going to start another post tonight with details and looking for advice on setting up an new 65 gallon tank I got for Christmas. However for this post I'm looking for advice on how to treat ick on a flame angel I bought yesterday. It was the only one left at my lfs and it seems to have a few minor white spots which I am assuming is ick. I purchased some cupramine, a 10 gallon tank and I'm using a HOB filter, and heater that I had. I haven't got a powerhead that I can put in and I purchased a few 2" pieces of PVC pipe to put in the tank. The fish seems healthy and active and is eating seaweed that I put on a clip in the tank. I added cupramine to a level of about 0.3. Tested with the seachem copper test. I have since read that flame angels are sensitive to copper :/. This is my first attempt at a quarantine and it seems like I'm already screwing up :(. I can't afford to kill this fish it was $100! I'm in Canada. Lol. I have done alot of reading last night and this morning and people are giving mixed reviews on cupramine and angels. Some say yes and some say no. I have also read that powedered ginger is a good ick treatment? Any and all advice is needed and welcomed. Please help!

Avast

jenreefer

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
The best and safest treatment if it is ich is CP(Chloroquine Phosphate).

How about some closeup pics of this little guy to help with the ID.

Cupramine is a bit harsh. If you have to use copper, you might want to switch to Coppersafe. If he continues to eat, in the .3 of Cupramine, you can try to up it to .5 slowly and see how he does. Make sure you are using the right test kit for cupramine (salifert) which is more accurate for low levels.

Most natural remedies are ineffective for parasites IMO.