Fixing my 40gal reef and coral tank

LilMuddawg

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello!

I have been running a saltwater tank for about 4 years now. I have had many ups and downs through the years. I started with a small 20g with 2 rocks, a handful of frags, and 3 fish (2 clown 1 royal gramma). I moved to a house recently and decided to upgrade to a 40g. If I had the room or more income, I would've preferred to upgrade higher possibly a 120g, but that'll have to wait.

For my main question, I have a GHL profilux mini controller, and a mitras light bar from my 20g that I've been using for my 40g at the moment. I'm sure I need to upgrade my light for proper development of my corals. My biggest issue right now is heating. I've blown through 2 150w aqueon pro heaters and this third one I have it set on 80F because it keeps running colder (my temp probe is reading 73-75F). I have heard you should get titanium heaters, but I would like advice for which kind I can connect to my GHL device to be able to program it.

Also in general, I'd say 50% of my livestock die. My corals aren't doing well, my fish that I've had for awhile are the only ones that stay living, the new fish I add die, as well as any new shrimp I add. My living fish are a wrasse, royal gamma, bi color blenny, and my 2 clowns who have started laying eggs.

I have honestly a book full of questions that I would love to ask, but I don't want to post a novel!

Fish Fan

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Let me be the first to welcome you to Reef2Reef!

I'm not sure how this slipped by without a reply so far, we are usually much quicker ;-)

I'm not an expert, but I'll bump your post up, and I'm sure other more experienced reefers will be by to offer more solid advice in no time.

I have no experience or comment on your controller or light bar.