Fishless cycle

rach

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone! Need some guidance, I’m new to the hobby, when I started my fishless cycle I added dr Tim’s one and only and I added ammonia, I didn’t test the water until week 3 cause I thought I was meant to just wait weeks on end and be patience, and I didn’t get the memo that I was suppose to be dosing ammonia constantly ‍♀️♀️ I’m using the Red Sea testing kit for reference

Added Dr Tim’s & Ammonia 9th of June

June 29
Ammonia 0.8
Nitrite 1
Nitrate 5
pH 8

July 2
Ammonia 0.8
Nitrite 1
Nitrate 2

What should my next steps be, do I dose ammonia, if so how much? I haven’t seen it reach 0 but also I didn’t test until 3 weeks in not sure if that means anything

GARRIGA

2500 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Best source I've found and actually learned much although thought I knew it all already and first heard of fishless back in the 80s. No bottled bacteria then. Just ammonium chloride and frozen shrimp.

OP
OP
R

rach

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
If you added rock,sand,saltwater,bacteria,heat and flow,your cycle was complete in a week.

You have nitrate so your good to go.

You can do a water change if ya want.

Ready a for a fish or two.
Yeah I have all that rock, sand, salt water, flow etc should I wait to ammonia and nitrites are 0 and should I be concerned that my nitrate is declining?

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
15   0   0
Hey everyone! Need some guidance, I’m new to the hobby, when I started my fishless cycle I added dr Tim’s one and only and I added ammonia, I didn’t test the water until week 3 cause I thought I was meant to just wait weeks on end and be patience, and I didn’t get the memo that I was suppose to be dosing ammonia constantly ‍♀️♀️ I’m using the Red Sea testing kit for reference

June 29
Ammonia 0.8
Nitrite 1
Nitrate 5
pH 8

July 2
Ammonia 0.8
Nitrite 1