Emergency Overdosed Bacto Balance

EliMelly

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Hello,

I overdosed Bacto balance by inputting the calculation to chat gpt. I have a 200 gallon total tank this was my first day dosing and I dosed 50 ml. I just turned on my UV and plan on doing a 20% water change. Anything else that I should do to save the corals?

I have some acros, torches, and softies…

exnisstech

Grumpy old man
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Never trust AI ;) I think water changes are the best but I'm far from an expert. I just started listing to a book where AI is taking over the country and killing everyone with drones so I'm serious anti AI at the moment lol.

EDIT: At my age I've seen too much science fiction come true so this whole AI thing has me on edge.

OP
OP
EliMelly

EliMelly

Valuable Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
Never trust AI ;) I think water changes are the best but I'm far from an expert. I just started listing to a book where AI is taking over the country and killing everyone with drones so I'm serious anti AI at the moment lol
Me too now. I have a friend who offered to take the corals not sure that’s necessary…

exnisstech

Grumpy old man
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Me too now. I have a friend who offered to take the corals not sure that’s necessary…
That would probably be more stress on them. I have a hunch you'll be ok. Maybe keep an eye on N and P to make sure they don't bottom out since BB is basically carbon dosing. I add 10ml daily to my tank of 285g total

BrokenReefer

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You should be ok with the water change - you'll likely bottom out; however, if you just dosed and then realized the error you very well could have caught it before it fully 'settled' in.

buruskeee

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0