Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello. I am new to saltwater and I’m thinking of starting up a tank. I have freshwater tanks rn and I’m wondering if I can use the same dechlorinator to convert tap water into water for freshwater fish, but with saltwater. Meaning I would add the salt to the dechlorinated water. Would that work the same way as using distilled water in a salt water tank? Thanks!

Top Shelf Aquatics

Terry Mattson

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Best practice is to purchase a ro/di system and use the ro/di water to make your salt water. Also, ro/di water is best practice for fresh water. I have a spectrapure max 90 5 stage. TBS is zero and no chemical additives are needed ....

www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com

sfin52

So many pedestrians so little time
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello. I am new to saltwater and I’m thinking of starting up a tank. I have freshwater tanks rn and I’m wondering if I can use the same dechlorinator to convert tap water into water for freshwater fish, but with saltwater. Meaning I would add the salt to the dechlorinated water. Would that work the same way as using distilled water in a salt water tank? Thanks!
Short answer is yes you can.

Unlike a fw tank all kinds of nastiness can be in the water that coral won't tolerate. Phosphates and nitrates are also in the water and this cause issues down the road with algae. Distilled water is close to rodi but it may have traces of copper in it.

If you are running a fowlr tap will work but you will end up with algae if not controlled some other way. Ro will also work
For reef distilled or rodi is the way to go.

Last edited:

my.PsychReef

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0