Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I‘ve been thinking of adding some kind of dead man‘s switch to my Setup.

My current idea goes along the lines of using a small reliable microcontroller, like an ATtiny85 or similar, that receives a ping from ReefPi every minute or so. If no signal is detected for e.g. 3-5 minutes, the power to the RaspberryPi is cut for a few seconds (I’m thinking a p-channel MOSFET in the +5V line).

What are your thoughts about this ?
Most importantly: What are your experiences with the reliability of ReefPi on Raspberry PIs ?

If reliability is good, the added complexity of such a setup might actually cause more problems than it solves, after all.

Nutramar Foods

fishyjoes

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have no experience with ReefPi or raspberryPi at all, however I spent several years doing embedded programming.
The concept you explain is known in the embedded world as a "watch dog timer" and is included in many microcontrollers (so you might not need another device).
I suggest you research whether raspberryPi have a watchdog timer and how to use it if they do.

Top Shelf Aquatics

theatrus

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0

My current idea goes along the lines of using a small reliable microcontroller, like an ATtiny85 or similar, that receives a ping from ReefPi every minute or so. If no signal is detected for e.g. 3-5 minutes, the power to the RaspberryPi is cut for a few seconds (I’m thinking a p-channel MOSFET in the +5V line).

Most importantly: What are your experiences with the reliability of ReefPi on Raspberry PIs ?

If reliability is good, the added complexity of such a setup might actually cause more problems than it solves, after all.