0   0   0
Good afternoon,

tank setup:
-20 gallon cube AIO
-Caribsea Live sand
-dry rock
-Instant ocean salt water @ 1.026
-cycling at 79-80 degrees
I am new to the hobby and am 6 days into the cycle using fritz fishless fuel and fritz turbostart 900. I have been reading a lot of brandon429"s posts as well as drreef's threads on cycling.

I dosed the fishless fuel day one and mistakenly got it to 8 ppm ammonia instead of closer to 4 ppm per directions.(did 4 drips per gallon not the tsp recommended, thought it would be the same amount) Dosed turbostart 900 and the 8 ppm got to .5 ppm in 4 days. nitrite is still high though. its hard to distinguish API nitrite test between 2 and 5 ppm, so i figure maybe 2-4 ppm?

I really have not seen any nitrite drop at all. it has been this high for 6 days now going on 7. I don't really understand why it is not going down. ammonia seemed to be getting proceeded at 2ppm in 24 hours like it should.

right now ammonia is 0, nitrite is like i said 2-5 ppm, nitrate readings have been all over the place, some times its 20 ppm other times its closer to 40 or even 60 ppm. when i get these readings I always redo test and get same result. kind of odd? I know I have read here that people get miss reads because of presence of high nitrite creating a misread?

The few reasons I am posting this thread is:
-2 lfs have given conflicting advice. one saying it stalled and to do 10% h20 change. Other says to wait it out it could take up to 2 weeks or so.
- I have seen information to from brandon429 and drreef as to the bottle bac being very advanced in how they work and cycling tanks in short periods of time. making a 2 week cycle using the products to be a long time. I don't want to rush anything, but I feel for paying extra for a " 1 week cycle" and waiting 2 to 3 weeks really isnt what we paid for then right?
-any ideas or recommendations?

IMG_3913.jpg

Top Shelf Aquatics

Impala67

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score