Corals not growing and I don’t know why?!?

j.speaks

Community Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all,

I’m having some troubles with the corals in my 65g tank. It’s my first reef, so keep in mind I’m fairly new to this.

None of my corals seem to be growing, and I’m really lost as to why. I have lost two corals (Kenya tree and Duncan) for unknown reasons. Other than those, I have some zoas, clove polyps, and two pieces of Gsp. Oddly enough the Gsp seem to be doing the worst and seems to be melting.

Tank info:
Filtration - I do bi weekly water changes of 10 gallons. I have a sump with a bubble magus curve 5 elite protein skimmer which has been running for a month
Lighting - one AI blade grow
Flow Sicce voyager

Some theories I have are:

stability of my params - it could be that I don’t test enough and my params are swinging too much? Would this really cause this much trouble?

Algae - specifically for the Gsp, I’ve noticed some brown algae growth on the rock up against it, but it’s not as much as any of the posts I look at about algae killing corals.

Another contaminant I can’t test for - should I do one of those mail in test thingys?

Overall, I’ve spent a lot of money and time on these corals and it’s frustrating to see them not growing as much as I hoped.

Any help is appreciated

Params:
Salinity 1.026
Temp - 77.8
Ammonia - > 0.25
Nitrate - 0.5
pH - 8.2
Alkalinity - 10.5
Calcium - 310
Phosphate - 0

Slocke

I’m pedantic, ignore me
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello all,

I’m having some troubles with the corals in my 65g tank. It’s my first reef, so keep in mind I’m fairly new to this.

None of my corals seem to be growing, and I’m really lost as to why. I have lost two corals (Kenya tree and Duncan) for unknown reasons. Other than those, I have some zoas, clove polyps, and two pieces of Gsp. Oddly enough the Gsp seem to be doing the worst and seems to be melting.

Tank info: