Coralivore butterflyfish diet experience

LaloJ

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I have little knowledge of butterflyfish that feed exclusively or almost exclusively on corals. I understand that they derive nutritional benefit specifically from coral polyps, so I was wondering if some of these fish can be fed a primary diet in captivity of corals such as zoanthids and palythoas, supplemented with some frozen foods, seafood mush, clams and oysters as a supplement; it's possible that well adapted fish can eat some dry foods but I understand that they have little to no nutritional benefit to them. Some butterflyfish of this type that I can get in my area are Chaetodon capistratus, Chaetodon striatus and Chaetodon ocellatus. As a side note, I have never seen these fish eat in captivity, and it's difficult to get other coralivore butterflyfish species here.

Lbrdsoxfan

5000 Club Member
View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
From my experience it's hard to get coralivores on prepared foods. Had a Blue Spot butterfly fish and it mainly dined on sps corals, pocillopora especially but I did successfully get it on to selcon soaked nori. Never ate anything like dry foods or cubed stuff. It was a hard experience and one of the few fish I returned back to my importer. Last I knew the fish was enjoying life in a massive 500+ gal sps dominant tank.

OP
OP
LaloJ

LaloJ

View Badges
Reaction score
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
That is a beautiful fish, I know it's complicated trying to adapt them to the food we use in captivity, sps corals seem to be the best option for them, although it's likely that other corals can be helpful, I have read about experiences with some butterflies that kill some corals such as zoanthids and even mushrooms. Another part to consider is diseases, the quality of fish is VERY bad in my area, especially for marine fish, and even worse in delicate fish like these, but that is another topic.