Converting RO to RODI filter, how does it work?

AI Hydra

SteveG66

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I picked up a used reverse osmosis system that was I believe was a drinking water system, I will convert it to RODI but am confused by a few of the components: a low pressure switch after the sediment filter and before the carbon filter. There is a water valve between the last filter and RO booster pump which feeds a gauge and the RO membrane. From the RO membrane it tees off into a high pressure switch and a line going to a polishing filter. The waste line of the RO membrane goes to the polishing filter as well. I plan to eliminate the polishing filter and the tee's. What function do the high pressure and low pressure switches provide?

I'm not an engineer but was able to diagram the flow and equipment, the switches and both lines going into the polishing filter don't make sense to me.

I do have on order a BRS dual DI cartridge system and all new filters on its way to complete this system once I get it figured out.

Any help would be great.

For our interest: I am a 6 year reefer upgrading from a failed 33 gal cube to a 47 gal lagoon, still putting it together while the livestock hang out in a 20 gal long aquarium as a temporary living situation. Fortunately, I was able to save all the livestock and equipment, tank is in the trash. I figured it was time to step up my water quality game!!

Thanks in advance,
SteveG

mann1139

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Unless you are using this for drinking, get rid of the polish filter. That is where the DI filters go.

Agree on waste being mis-plumbed, it should go to drain.

Switches are for safety. May be able to remove unless pump wiring requires them.

SteveMM62Reef

Valuable Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0