Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi all, I’m still relatively new to the hobby, even after 3 years. I have a 20G AIO tank and I’m considering an addition to the tank, but unsure of what I can actually add, or even if I should.

My current tank population includes:
1 black ocellaris clown
2 astrea snail
2 spiny trochus (was 3 but one recently died)
2 bumblebee
2 nassarius
1 cowrie
2 scarlet hermit crabs
1 purple claw hermit crab
And a freeloader bristleworm hitchhiker

Can anyone give me an idea of what the clown and each invert adds to my Bioload and what amount I have available if any? Prior to the death of my spiny trochus my corals were growing well and everyone seemed happy. Since that death, I’ve had a reddish cyano growth on my sand bed. Corals, fish and CUC still seem happy.

Phosphates/nitrates are both excellent.
Nitrates at zero, phosphate kept near zero (last test was 0.12ppm) using phosban.

Nutramar Foods
OP
OP
Whiteydenewf

Whiteydenewf

Community Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
how much rock is in your tank? The rock supports the bioload, more rock means more space for nitrifying bacteria to grow which means stronger biofilter.
Quite a bit actually. 2 small flat plates front and back on the sand bed. 2 much larger rocks on each side of the tank.

Nutramar Foods

LordofCinder

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wouldn’t worry. 2 out of 3 ain’t bad. Honestly snails die sometimes for unknown reason, it’s not uncommon. Fish death I would worry but one out of three new snails I wouldn’t worry.

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
Wisconsin - Florida delayed due 2 hurricane damage
Rating - 100%
6   0   0