Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Have patience, take things slow, and stability is key! The last tip refers to not making many changes at once and keeping parameters stable. For example, if you are going to change the lighting, wait 2-4 weeks to see what the coral response is before you switch back or make another drastic change.

Welcome to the hobby and good luck,
Jim

Sailaway

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to saltwater and just looking for general advice that you wish you had known when you started off thank you in advance
Again, take things very slowly. Your tank may cycle In 3 weeks, but personally, I think it’s better to wait for some sort of algae growth and a visible pod population to appear. Pay attention to parameters but don’t check them twice a day, you’ll go nuts. Start with easy corals such as zoas, palys, and leathers. Don’t get GSP or Xenia, your entire rock structure will eventually be smothered by it. for algae control, sea urchins are fantastic and fun to watch. Wait on anemones.
That’s all I have.

Top Shelf Aquatics

Fish Styx

The Dude Abides
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+1 /0 /-0
Rating - 100%
1   0   0
Agree with the previous two posters. Patience is more than just a virtue in this hobby. Keep your eyes on the long game at all times and remember the old addage: only bad things happen quickly in reefing.

CoastalTownLayabout

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Set realistic expectations for your first system. There’s a lot of eye candy to distract new reefers. Ask yourself, would you rather have a successful start with basic, easy to keep corals or struggle trying to provide the required conditions for more demanding corals.