Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Not sure if I should post this question here or in the LPS forum...but I'm a newbie so it's probably a newbie question! lol

Research tells me that Acanthastrea are the same thing as Micromussa, but my LFS tells me that they are different and that an acan has large polyps, whereas the micromussa has small polyps. Can someone clarify? Are they the same or are they not the same?

www.dinkinsaquaticgardens.com

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
Wisconsin - Florida delayed due 2 hurricane damage
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Micromussa known as acan lord is actually a lobophyllis coral

tbrown3589

It's just me
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 100%
2   0   0
So as mentioned above, Micromussa and Acan Lords are the same coral. They were reclassified from Acan to Micromussa. Some vendors still sell them.as Acans simply because it's how it's always been.

Edit to add: Basically, Lordhowensis are all the same regardless of what word comes before them.

World Wide Corals

C4ctus99

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
So as mentioned above, Micromussa and Acan Lords are the same coral. They were reclassified from Acan to Micromussa. Some vendors still sell them.as Acans simply because it's how it's always been.

Edit to add: Basically, Lordhowensis are all the same regardless of what word comes before them.
So to clarify, there’a two names for the same thing, my understanding was that acans are also a separate group? Like you have Acan lords/micromussa and you have acans, is it that or is it just all micromussa?

tbrown3589

It's just me
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 100%
2   0   0