Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,
I am new to reef keeping.
I have a yasha goby and pistol shrimp.
I was away from home for 1 week and I returned on Monday April 10 to find the goby opening & closing its mouth continuously, not swimming much, not being afraid of me, and most worrisome, not eating.
I have tried spot feeding without success.
There were no spots on the goby. The shrimp is behaving normally.

Today, April 16, I noticed around the left eye a white spot. I have attached a photo.
Is this ich?
I also notice that the goby is struggling to stay upright. It seems to be tilting to its right, and then it tries to upright itself.

If it is ich, what next steps would you suggest? QT with copper?
I have no other livestock in this 5gallon tank.
Stay in this tank but try to lower salinity? how would this affect pistol shrimp?

My first step will be to increase water temperature from 76 and increase to 82.

Water parameters were:
ammonia zero
nitrite zero
nitrate 1.2

Thank you
John

Yasha goby.jpg

OP
OP
O

obee2732

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Filtration is Tidal Seachem 35 which has a surface skimmer.
They did get fed twice over the 7 days I was away. However, they were by my parents who don't know anything about this hobby but I had set aside the frozen brine shrimp so quantity should have been appropriate. I doubt they would've put anything else or put their hands in the tank.
Salinity when I returned was 1.025 and is still 1.025

Thank you so much for the reply

Avast
OP
OP
O

obee2732

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wonder because it is a small tank (5 gallon) and I was using an ATO while I was away.
The ATO is the hydor and has preset sensors, and so I wonder if the salinity fluctuated to drastically?
For example, I can the salinity going from 1.025 to 1.027 before the ATO refilling with RODI.