+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,

I have an old biocube 16 that the leds have stopped working in. It's old, but i've kept the live rock alive after I had a tank crash and have now finally started to reconsider getting back into it and bringing it back to life. Had it going for the whole life of a clownfish (14 years and 6 moves) until I finally lost the clown and things broke down after that. I've finished mourning and have acquired funds.

So an aquarium and stand doesn't end up in a landfill, I'm considering refurbing leds into my biocube 16 instead of just getting another one even though I could probably afford it at the moment. I would really like to keep the stock external appearance with closed hood. What are the best led's I could possibly put in it? I'm not an electrician so I'll probably be having someone else install it.

I found these on ebay. It's an 80 watt retrofit kit where the guy installs them into the hood for me. It would come with the optional controller. Do y'all think SPS could grow under these leds with appropriate water parameters? The install is apparently customizable to a certain extent so any recommendations on color temp, wattage, LED types/colors would be helpful. I'm not going to try SPS right off the bat, but if I'm putting lights in, I wanna make sure I have the best even though I may not need them for the corals and creatures I choose initially.

Any other suggestions for a retrofit Biocube 16 led kit that keeps the stock external look would be welcome.

I have heard of Steve's LEDs, but their biocube 16 setup is on backorder and I haven't heard anything back from them after trying to contact for an ETA. I've tried contacting twice.

Top Shelf Aquatics

thatmanMIKEson

Reefing ain't easy$
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello,