Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the hobby and I’m pretty set on getting a pair of the devil fish, AKA Maroon Clowns. Is there anything that yall have seen that will thrive with a pair of maroon clowns in the tank? If not, I am perfectly happy having just the pair in the tank.

Thanks in advance!

AS

Macbalacano

Recovering Reef Addict
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I am new to the hobby and I’m pretty set on getting a pair of the devil fish, AKA Maroon Clowns. Is there anything that yall have seen that will thrive with a pair of maroon clowns in the tank? If not, I am perfectly happy having just the pair in the tank.

Thanks in advance!
Welcome to R2R!

I think you might be able to get away with another fish or two, but i'm sure others might disagree!

Have you looked into a watchman goby and pistol shrimp pair? Might be cool to watch in a 25g and add some movement to the bottom of the tank.

You could also go with a firefish or royal gramma, but it really does depend I think on the personality of the clowns you have. I think if you do an acclimation box, that might help increase your success.

Alternatively or as a supplement to the above, you could get more inverts, which I think are just as interesting as fish. Like Fire/Blood shrimp, cleaner shrimp, peppermint shrimp, a conch, bunch of different snails. When your tank matures more you can get an anemone, clams etc..

Happy Reefing!

Quietman

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey at least you're doing it right. You settle on the fish you want even though you know there's going to be aggression issues in that small of tank and willing to adjust other fish or forgo completely...applause to you.