Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey I'm new to reefing tank has been running since January 2023. I have this algae that keeps growing and coming back I've been trying to manually remove it but it's tough to get everything. It's covering my clove polyps mainly. I've attached a video any help identifying what it is and how to fix it would be greatly appreciated.

Attachments

• 20230515_113123.mp4
    25.1 MB

Timfish

Crusty Old Salt
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I wouldn't worry about trying to get rid of everything all at once. It looks like you used only dry rock to set up your system or maybe rock with just basic nitryfing bacteria added. If so I'd suggest you read aquabiomics article on establishing a healthy microbiome. If indeed you did not use any wild or maricultured live rock (GulfLiveRock, TampBay or KP Aquatics) I would suggest youi get some, even a few peices will help introduce stuff that can't be cultured and stuck in a bottle. I would start doing water changes 2 - 4 times a month totalling only 20-30% monthly. See the below videos for using straws and paper towels for remvoing nuisance algae. Short Spine Urchins are great for scouring the "holdfasts" or cleaning alage off to bare rock. My favorites are Tuxedo and caribean short spine pink urchins. Sallylightfoot crabs and thin stripe hermits also work well for me.

Here's some links, don't try to watch thenm all at once and go back and review them after a few weeks: ROhwer's book has a section on the equilibrium of reef ecosystems and how small variable can have significant influence you might find informative.

Steel Straws

Paper towels for algae