Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi All, I am new to the hobby and using a Waterbox Cube 20. I have used fish pellets as source of ammonia during cycling and Bio S everyday and have the AF bio media in the back sump of my tank. 9 days into the cycle, my Ammonia and Nitrites were 0 and Nitrate was 20 PPM. At that point my local LFS said it was fine to add two mature clowns and some Zoas. I have been testing everyday and my nitrite was at 0 for a few days straight and ammonia as well.

I have added the clows and Zoas, Clowns are eating fine and are staying to the back of the tank and added the Zoas yesterday. However, today when i did my water test.
Ammonia: 0-0.25 PPM
Nitrite: 0.25 PPM
Nitrate: 10 PPM

I am freaking out as to what might have gone wrong here, the fishes are acting fine and the Zoas are opening up slightly but nothing crazy. But my fishes are developing some blackspots on their body. (Google tells me, it might be them scratching against the corals)

Please help me, any advice to get stuff back in control?

Avast

blaxsun

10K Club member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
What testing kit are you using? Salifert kits are probably the most trusted/reliable.

Small amounts of ammonia are normal (they get converted to nitrites which in turn get converted to nitrates...) I usually recommend getting a Seachem Ammonia Alert badge and sticking that in your tank (this gives you an instant ammonia reading). You don't really need to test for nitrites going forward unless there's something seriously wrong with your ammonia levels (but everything would most likely be dead, so...)

gbroadbridge

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0