+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi there,

To make a long story short, I currently have four total wavemakers/pumps (all Jebao) that I've procured over a period of time (I like to buy used, inexpensive things when I'm just starting out before going all out on expensive stuff) and I need help figuring out where to place them on my standard 75 gallon (48") corner overflow tank.

Two of the pumps are gyre type, and the other two are rip offs of the Neros. I know the gyre types are weak for the size tank that I have, but I'm going to use them for now anyway.

2x Jebao SCP-70M - These are a cheap clone of something similar to a Icecap Gyre 2k. They are rated slightly lower than the Icecap Gyre 2k.

2x Jebao SLW-30 - These are a cheap clone of the Nero wavemakers. I think it's rated about the same as a Nero 5, but probably more like an in-between of the Nero 3 and 5.

I'm wondering where I should put these.. I was thinking either both gyre types on the back wall and the nero types on the sides.. Or the opposite with the gyre types on the sides and the nero types on the back.... or a combo of each? I'm really lost here as to where I should start before looking for dead spots.

I'll attach a picture from when I first set it up so the rockwork can be seen, if that makes a difference...
20221027_192534.jpg

Can anyone point me in the right direction? As of now, I don't have many coral, a few frags, mostly LPS.

TIA.

KrisReef

7500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
You understand there is no single right answer to your question?

The Gyres are typically set at opposite ends of the tank, same are the other two pumps. SOmetimes people put on gyre near the top and the other one near the bottom (on the opposite side) to get the water making a circular flow ("Gyre").