Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hey everyone, I'm new to the hobby and currently two weeks into cycling my tank using Dr Tim's ammonia, one and only, and first defense. I did lots of research on how to use the products and made sure the water temperature was raised, salinity was lowered, no lights, no skimmer, no filter sock, no fish, but of course I have an API test kit which seemingly everyone says not to use. Everything seems to be moving along, pH has dropped, ammonia and nitrites spiked and dropped, and nitrates have spiked.

My concern is the pH and nitrates. Should I be waiting for ammonia and nitrites to drop before doing a water change to lower nitrates? Or should I wait it out a few more days (look into a different test kit as well) and retest and reevaluate? Trying not to react to a problem that very well could just be in the process of sorting itself out. I appreciate any advice as I'm not exactly sure what to do from here, thank you!

Nutramar Foods

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
Wisconsin - Florida delayed due 2 hurricane damage
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Hey everyone, I'm new to the hobby and currently two weeks into cycling my tank using Dr Tim's ammonia, one and only, and first defense. I did lots of research on how to use the products and made sure the water temperature was raised, salinity was lowered, no lights, no skimmer, no filter sock, no fish, but of course I have an API test kit which seemingly everyone says not to use. Everything seems to be moving along, pH has dropped, ammonia and nitrites spiked and dropped, and nitrates have spiked.