+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi,

My tang got a bad cut a few days ago, sliced straight and pretty deep. I moved it to a separate tank to help it heal but it's now going that well.

The wound looks better, but since the cut, the tang is all bent and swimming mostly in circles. It's eating like never before and can move somewhat quickly when startled.

I look blown up on the side, so I think it's a swim bladder problem, but I have no experience here. Can someone please point me in the right direction regarding how to help it?

Image shows where the cut is, it bends towards it:
IMG20221212142000.jpg

Thank you!!

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
Wisconsin - Florida delayed due 2 hurricane damage
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Hi,

My tang got a bad cut a few days ago, sliced straight and pretty deep. I moved it to a separate tank to help it heal but it's now going that well.

The wound looks better, but since the cut, the tang is all bent and swimming mostly in circles. It's eating like never before and can move somewhat quickly when startled.

I look blown up on the side, so I think it's a swim bladder problem, but I have no experience here. Can someone please point me in the right direction regarding how to help it?

Image shows where the cut is, it bends towards it:
View attachment 2931761

View attachment 2931764
Thank you!!
IOhno . . . . Sorry to see this. Fish is moribund, a term used for a specimen which may or not make it due to swimming inability, unable to eat and likely heavy breathing. The cut you mentioned looks like the scalpel from another tang and happened along the lateral line which is part of the nervous/sensory system of the fishs' neuromast.
You can increase oxygen but may not be of help at this point. Was fish eating? (looks a little thin)

Upvote 0
OP
OP
K

Kaj Mählqvist

Review score
+0 /0 /-0