+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Good Evening all,

I am new to the hobby but over a month ago i brought the below linked TMC reef tank.

I am having surface film problems even with my pump creating quite a bit of surface agitation.

Due to the construction you can see in the above link, the rear sump has an input at the top and the bottom, because of this the film is not getting dragged into the sump and the filtration stack is not catching it correctly.

The filtration stack also has a good 1-2cm gap underneath so dirty water can go straight into the pump.

I have thought of putting filter floss under the stack to block the water flow.

Does any have any experience with this tank or any ideas on how i could improve it.

Cheers!

Nutramar Foods

TheBear78

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
It may well be some kind of chemical and/or debris left over from the tank manufacture.
Have you ever managed to remove it, possibly by dragging some filter floss around the surface? Did it come back?
You could try stirring it up but I'd be reluctant to risk reintroducing to the water if it's decided to separate.

Top Shelf Aquatics

vetteguy53081

Well known Member and monster tank lover
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+12 /0 /-0
Wisconsin - Florida delayed due 2 hurricane damage
Rating - 100%
6   0   0
Good Evening all,

I am new to the hobby but over a month ago i brought the below linked TMC reef tank.

I am having surface film problems even with my pump creating quite a bit of surface agitation.

Due to the construction you can see in the above link, the rear sump has an input at the top and the bottom, because of this the film is not getting dragged into the sump and the filtration stack is not catching it correctly.

The filtration stack also has a good 1-2cm gap underneath so dirty water can go straight into the pump.