+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the hobby and have been having some serious problems with my cycle/getting my tank up and underway, almost from day 1 it seems. (I have a full, detailed thread about it here: https://www.reef2reef.com/threads/fluval-flex-15-jellyfish-conversion.964226/ ). Multiple people at two of my LFS and a friend with some good freshwater experience are stumped for some of my problems and I can't seem to find what I need reading through threads or any other type of research.

What brings me here today is that I am still having Nitrite issues a full 7 weeks after starting my cycle. I recognize the general opinion is that Nitrites really don't matter in the hobby and given the relatively low readings I'm getting I wouldn't be really that concerned about it if I was keeping a fish only or reef system, but I'm not. I'm attempting to keep Jellyfish in this tank of mine and in general they are very sensitive to suboptimal water conditions.

I did a full test of my water's parameters this morning and got these results:
NH4: 0.25-0.5 on API
NO2: 0 on API (It is a darker blue than the baby blue it starts as, but still very much blue) and reading 0.2 on a Red Sea Kit
NO3: 5-10 on API and 5 on Red Sea
Salinity: 1.023
Temp: 75.2
Alk: 8.9 on Salifert
pH: 8.15 on Salifert
PO4: Between 0.1 and 0.25 (Halfway or so in between?)

I've found my Red Sea kit to be pretty accurate and I've been happy with it. The results change as expected (ie: before and after a water change). Working on getting a better NH4 test kit, but my NH4 readings have consistently tested about 0.25-0.5 since the spike so I'm wondering if that's effectively my "Zero" on the API kit. My Nitrites are climbing right now and don't seem to be going away like they should and I'm just at a loss. This is after an 80% water change about 12 days ago now too at what should have been the 'end of my cycle'.