Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
I had posted this in my build log and several people thought I should do a writeup on it so here it goes. Sorry if it is long winded I never wrote up a diy. (Disclaimer I’m not an electrical engineer just a hobbyist with some experience tinkering with electronics.)

I stumbled on a simple cheap backup power solution with a pretty robust set of features. You can build a solar generator cheaply and run your DC pumps on it. A pwm solar controller is about $16. That, a battery and a few other components and you have a cool standby backup power solution. I spent about $45 not including battery for mine.

If you are a skimmer you can skip to the end, there is a lot of background stuff coming up.

Background
I have been researching backup solutions and honestly the information is well vague and lacking in many areas. The common theme is that it is super important to have a backup, and best if it is for circulation pumps. There just aren’t a lot of complete solutions.

Being new to reefing I discovered that a tank only has a short window of time where it can be without any life support. As a rule of thumb, the way I see it, after 4 hours without life-support, things are at least stressed but can start dying. 6 hours they do start dying, 12 you get to start a fresh tank. Worst part is even if fish and coral survive the outage, the stress or effects from hypoxia could kill them in the days to come.

I actually have a generator, but I must be home to hook it up. Let’s say power goes out 1 hour after I leave for work (or my GFCI trips). By the time I get home and discover the power was out, I’m now in the die-off\stressed window. Second issue I face is my town requires I shut off the generator at 10:00pm until 6:00am so now I have another 8 hours without life support. Sure, I can get out the spatulas and buckets, but honestly my tank is toast at that point.