Small tube with 2 white antenna around 3mm long?

TinCanHero

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Hello, I had a few frags a week or so ago and I've noticed a small tube within the hystrix. the opening is around 1mm wide and ive found 2 white antennae sticking out around 3mm~. Any ideas?

looking online I see references to Vsnails. However, unfortunately for me, I've had a lot of experience with these guys and it's not like any I've seen before. Usually, Vsnails don't poke anything except a web from their tube, the tubes are usually larger than this and spiral along with being a light brown through to a dark brown/burgundy color. also when on coral like this they tend to outpace even the fastest-growing SPS usually having a few mm of shell above the encrusting line. the antennae remind me of a Stomatella snail or a Turbo snail.

Thoughts?

Kind regards, TinCan

20230127_190343.jpg

Last edited:
Nutramar Foods
OP
OP
TinCanHero

TinCanHero

Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
Rating - 0%
0   0   0
Spionid I'm pretty sure. Harmless
I did a quick google search and it does look like one of those.

came across this thread about the boring types, I'm tempted to just frag it off to be on the safe side. I have no idea about their reproductive cycle, do they propagate quickly?

Doing some research on Spionid Worms I found an article talking about the Boring version of these. It appears they can be very damaging as the boring throughout the core itself and can make it very brittle and attack lots of SPS corals. I know on the frag pictured originally it seems like glueing only sometimes works as they end up poping back up out of other polyps later in the frag. I have taken a good piece of it off now that appears uninfected to try and save some should I have to toss this frag.

CLICK TO VIEW

ISpeakForTheSeas

2500 Club Member
Review score
+0 /0 /-0
View Badges
Reaction score